Skip to main content

The history and topographical survey of the County of Kent

Submitted by Ruiha Smalley on 31 July 2019

British History Online provides access to the 12 volumes in the series titled The history and topographical survey of the County of Kent. The volumes, originally published by W. Bristow in 1797, are by Edward Hasted and include a general account of the history, topography and natural history of Kent. Click on the headings to go straight to the volume or here for the main webpage -

Volume 1

Includes the parishes of the two hundreds of Blackheath and Bromley and Beckenham, and several parishes now forming part of metropolitan London – Charlton, Deptford, Greenwich, Lewisham and Woolwich.

Volume 2

Includes four hundreds in the lath of Sutton-at-Hone – Little and Lesnes, Dartford and Wilmington, Ruxley, and Axtane and covers accounts of Dartford and areas of south-east London, including Orpington.

Volume 3

Details four hundreds in the lathe of Sutton-at-Hone – Westerham and Edenbridge,  Brasted, Somerton and Codsheath – and two in the lathe of Aylesford – Toltringtrough and Shamwell. Includes accounts of the towns of Gravesend, Shoreham and Westerham.

Volume 4

Covers the hundreds of Hoo, Chatham and Gillingham, Maidstone and Larkfield and an account of the cathedral city of Rochester.

Volume 5

Details the eight hundreds of the lathe of Aylesford, including those of Brenchley and Wrotham and includes accounts of the towns of Tonbridge and West Peckham.

Volume 6

Covers three hundreds in the lath of Scray – Faversham, Milton and Tenham – and accounts of the isle of Sheppey and the ville of Sheerness.

Volume 7

Continues the account of the hundreds in the lath of Scray and contains accounts of four hundreds in the lath of Shipway and Ashford.

Volume 8

Details the parishes and towns of the lath of Shepway and the hundred of Whitstable and an account of the town of Folkestone.

Volume 9

Details the parishes of ten of the hundreds in the lath of St. Augustine – lying in the east of the county, between Canterbury, Dover and the coast. The volume includes an account of Dover.

Volume 10

Details the history of the parishes of the hundred of Eastry, the isle of Thanet and the ports of Deal and Sandwich.

Volume 11

The first of two volumes on Canterbury – contains a thematic history of the city, and part of an historical survey of the cathedral priory.

Volume 12

The second volume on Canterbury continues the history of the cathedral and includes accounts of other religious houses in the city, including the abbey of St Augustine. It also gives substantial biographical accounts of the archbishops and archdeacons of Canterbury.