KENT ARCHAEOLOGICAL SOCIETY  -- RESEARCH   Studying and sharing Kent's past      Homepage

Archaeologia Cantiana Vol. 14 -1882  pages 143
                           
ST RADEGUNDíS PRAEMONSTRATENSIAN ABBEY. By W. H. St John Hope B.A.  Continued

and the picturesque porch and carved door on the north side of the Fratry, are his work. The Abbey continued in the Edolph family until 1719, when it passed by purchase to Sir Peter Eaton; and subsequently, by marriage with one of his descendants in 1750, to George Sayer of Pett Place, Charing, Kent; whose great-grandson, John Sayer of the same place, is the present owner.
   The remains of the Abbey occupy a prominent position, on a hill, about three miles equi-distant from Dover and Folkestone. Visitors are doubtless familiar with the ivy-clad ruins of what has hitherto been called the gatehouse, but which is really the tower; also with the remains of the nave, transept, chapter house, cellarer's buildings, and the refectory, with its quaint sixteenth-century alterations. The extent of the church was, however, quite unknown; and in order to ascertain this point excavations were commenced, in the spring of 1880, by myself and Mr. Richard Ussher; the cost being defrayed by the owner, assisted by Canon Jenkins, Mr. Robert Furley, and others.
   Operations were commenced on March 29th with four 

men, and the first day's work sufficed to discover and lay bare the foundations of the east end of the church. In the course of the next three days the whole of the walls of the eastern arm and transept, excepting a small portion of the south aisle where a tree intervened, had been traced out. The east and south walls of the chapter house were also defined and the extent of the infirmary hall. Many of the doors and other details had become obscured by the accumulation of soil and debris; this was removed, and part of the tower area cleared, to shew the bases of the arches. The arch, from the latter into the transept, had been much mutilated and then blocked up; the material was all removed and many of the stones found to be portions of tombs, floriated Transitional or early English capitals, and arch voussoirs with dog-tooth ornament. A beginning was also made on the extreme western range of buildings, but this portion still needs excavating.
    In the following November, the balance of the excavating fund having been increased by a grant from the Kent

Page  143   (This page was prepared for the website by Aaron Meyer)      

Previous page       Back to Page Listings       Next page    

For details about the advantages of membership of the Kent Archaeological Society   click here

Contents Page    Back to Arch. Cant. List   Back to Publications On-line    Back to Research Page   Back to Homepage

Kent Archaeological Society is a registered charity number 223382
© Kent Archaeological Society March 2005

This website is constructed by enthusiastic amateurs.  Any errors noticed by other researchers will be to gratefully received so
 that we can amend our pages to give as accurate a record as possible. Please send details too research@kentarchaeology.org.uk