This is one of the many fine houses of which the
Parish can boast. For four hundred years it was owned by the well
known Kentish family of Hodsoll. It has seen many changes since then,
the present owner is K. T. Kingston.
The building is believed to have been commenced about the
year 1390 and that the timbers of old warships were extensively used.
The original building has been extended at both ends. It contains
several fine open fireplaces and one room with well preserved mural
frescoes. There is also the
"Captainís Room", a bedroom,
traditionally that of a Captain in the navy of the time of Charles II,
who then owned the Manor. Apparently the Captain had the honour of
rowing His Majesty on a ceremonial visit to the Fleet, in
commemoration of which event he had painted a picture depicting the
scene, which still hangs upon the wall of his room.
In the garden of the house there is an espalier apple
tree reputed to be 260 years old and it still bears fruit.